Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

skip to main content

2022 AAAAI Honorary Award Recipients

Allied Health Professionals Recognition Award

Isabel Skypala
Dr. Skypala was recognized for her service to the allergy / immunology allied health community as a leader, mentor, and educator.
Isabel J. Skypala, PhD, RD
Royal Brompton & Harefield Hospitals
Consultant Allergy Dietitian

Distinguished Clinician Award

Dennis Ownby
Dr. Ownby was recognized for his major contributions as a leader in a/i. Along with the numerous positions he has held within the AAAAI and work he has done for the FDA.
Dennis R. Ownby, MD, FAAAAI
Augusta University
Professor of Pediatrics    

Distinguished Clinician Award

Sandra Christiansen
Dr. Christiansen was recognized for her standards for clinical excellence while mentoring and supporting students, residents, fellows, and young faculty.
Sandra C. Christiansen, MD, FAAAAI
The University of California, San Diego
Professor of Medicine

Distinguished Layperson Award

Lawrence Vapniarek
Mr. Vapniarek was recognized for his ability to implement seamlessly life-long learning and professional development. Which considers the needs and desires of busy allergists and immunologists while remaining meaningful to patients and the public.
Lawrence J. Vapniarek Jr., MBA
American Board of Allergy and Immunology
Chief Operating Officer (retired)
Consultant to the ABAI

Distinguished Scientist Award

James Gern
Dr Gern was recognized for his focus on identifying mechanistic pathways by which viral respiratory infections and other environmental (microbiome) and host (genetic) factors promote the inception of asthma.
James E. Gern, MD, FAAAAI
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health
Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine
Chief, Division of Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology, Department of Pediatrics
Vice Chair of Research, Department of Pediatrics

Distinguished Service Award

Marshall Grodofsky
Dr. Grodofsky was recognized for sharing strategies to running a successful practice and being instrumental in establishing the Practice Management Committee.
Marshall Paul Grodofsky, MD
Connecticut Allergy & Asthma Center, LLC (retired)
Emeritus Partner

Mentorship Award

Andrea Apter
Dr. Apter was recognized for her lifetime of service as an allergy / immunology mentor for students, residents, fellows, and faculty. And for her involvement in grant writing activities, that help the further advancement of a/i.
Andrea J. Apter, MD, MA, MSc, FAAAAI
Professor Emerita of Medicine, Section of Allergy & Immunology
University of Pennsylvania

Mentorship Award

Hugh Sampson
Dr. Sampson was recognized for his unique ability to influence others with his direct and honest feedback, while also giving each person ample room to grow and learn, which has made him an effective and beloved advisor/mentor.
Hugh A. Sampson, MD, FAAAAI
Department of Pediatrics; Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Kurt Hirschhorn Professor of Pediatrics

Practice Champion of the Year Award

Dr. Mora was recognized for her care for patients with respect to housing, nutrition, employment, and safety. As well as her initiatives to educate and facilitate allergy treatment for patients in the community.
Juanita Mora, MD
National Spokesperson
Allergist/Immunologist, Chicago Allergy Center

RSLAAIS Leadership Award

/DiPrimio Kalman
Dr. DiPrimio-Kalman was recognized the guidance and support she has given to practicing allergist / immunologist mentees to develop and achieve their projects. And for empowering current and past RSLAAIS governors to serve as mentors.
Denise A. DiPrimio-Kalman, DO, FAAAAI
Nemours Alfred I. duPont Hospital for Children
Allergy & Immunology and Internist/Pediatrician

Special Recognition Award

Pudupakkam Vedanthan
Dr. Vedanthan was recognized for his commitment to serving allergy / asthma patients in India through the International Asthma Services. Along with his efforts in encouraging other A/I professionals to travel with him on this mission.
Pudupakkam K. Vedanthan, MD, FAAAAI
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Clinical Professor of Medicine (Division of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology)