Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

skip to main content

2024 AAAAI Honorary Award Recipients

Allied Health Professionals Recognition Award

Dr. Mudd
Ms. Mudd is being recognized for her service to the allergy/immunology allied health community as a leader, mentor, educator and compassionate healthcare provider in her community, state and nationally.
Kim E. Mudd, RN, MSN, CCRP
Food Allergy Research Nurse Manager
Johns Hopkins Division of Pediatric Allergy, Immunology and Rheumatology    

Distinguished Clinician Award

Dr. Golden
Dr. Golden is being recognized for his clinical scientific contributions to the allergy literature and community with respect to venom anaphylaxis and for his integrity and dedication to patient care.
David B. K. Golden, MD, FAAAAI
Associate Professor of Medicine/Independent Consultant
Johns Hopkins University/Drs. Golden & Matz LLC (retired)

Distinguished Clinician Award

Dr. Sicherer
Dr. Sicherer is being recognized for his clinical trials that have helped all clinicians in all aspects of food allergy; including advancing knowledge related to epidemiology, advisory labeling, quality of life, daily management, genetics, treatments and diagnostics for food allergy.
Scott H. Sicherer, MD, FAAAAI
Director, Jaffe Food Allergy Institute, Chief of the Division of Allergy, Dept. Pediatrics, Kravis Children’s Hospital, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York

Distinguished Layperson Award

Emily Brown
Ms. Brown is being recognized for her tremendous contributions to patients, families, communities, service organizations and the scientific community; in combatting food insecurity in the food allergy population and working to ensure that all patients with food allergy can access healthy and safe foods.
Emily Brown
Founder and CEO
Free From Market

Distinguished Scientist Award

Dr. PlattsMills
Dr. Platts-Mills is being recognized for his international reputation for identifying the importance of both fungal and dust mite aeroallergen sensitization in the disease course and treatment of both allergic rhinitis and asthma.
Thomas A.E. Platts-Mills, MD, PhD, FAAAAI
Oscar Swineford Jr. Professor of Medicine
University of Virginia, Department of Medicine

Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Freeman
Dr. Freeman is being recognized for his dedication to his patients, his mentees, and the allergy/immunology specialty. Dr. Freeman has also been instrumental in the thriving AAAAI Military Allergy & Immunology Assembly.
Theodore M. Freeman, MD, FAAAAI
Emeritus Director
The American Board of Allergy & Immunology

Lifetime Contribution to the AAAAI and A/I Specialty Award

Dr. Busse
Dr. Busse is being recognized for his excellence in leadership, service, research, clinical care and mentorship. Along with more than 50 years of contributing to the AAAAI as not only a president but also a leader of numerous committees and divisions and helping to establish the AAAAI Foundation. Dr. Busse’s focus for the Foundation was to help junior investigators find opportunities to fund their research and to date the Foundation, due in part to his devotion, has given more than ten million dollars in funding.
William W. Busse, MD, FAAAAI
Professor of Medicine, Emeritus
University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health Division of Allergy, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Learn more about Dr. Busse’s contributions and career in his summer Impact interview.

Mentorship Award

Dr. McGready
Dr. McGeady is being recognized for providing unconditional support and encouragement while motivating mentees to achieve their career goals. While also investing in their well-being by helping them learn how to best prioritize their personal goals outside of their professional ones.  
Stephen J. McGeady, MD, FAAAAI
Professor of Pediatrics, Thomas Jefferson University
Attending Physician, Nemours Children’s Health

Mentorship Award

Dr. Phipatanakul
Dr. Phipatanakul is being recognized for helping her mentees excel and make sure they are always encouraged to join various allergy/immunology committees and are given networking opportunities that have helped advance their careers.
Wanda Phipatanakul, MD, MS, FAAAAI
S. Jean Emans, MD, Professor of Pediatrics
Director, Clinical Research Center
Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Practice Champion of the Year Award

Announced in December 2023

RSLAAIS Leadership Award

Dr. Abramson is being recognized for his service to allergy/immunology local, regional, and national communities as a leader, mentor, advocate, and educator. As well as giving valuable educational presentations to not only healthcare professionals but the public since 1990 demonstrating his long-term engagement to his community.
Stuart L. Abramson, MD, PhD, AE-C, FAAAAI
Director, Allergy and Immunology Services
Shannon Clinic and Shannon Medical Center

Special Recognition Award

Dr. Mekori
Dr. Mekori is being recognized for his distinguished career that has bridged expert clinical care, research, education, policy and academic leadership over the past four decades. Along with his outstanding international reputation and being the most distinguished allergist in Israel.
Yoseph A. Mekori, MD, FAAAAI
Professor Emeritus of Medicine & Head Mast Cell Disorders Center
Meir Medical Center and Tel Aviv University - ISRAEL