Cookie Notice

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Review our cookies information for more details.

skip to main content

2023 AAAAI Honorary Award Recipients

Allied Health Professionals Recognition Award

Ms. Mallam is being recognized for her service to the allergy/immunology allied health community as a leader, mentor, educator, and compassionate healthcare provider in her community.
Dee Mallam, RN, AE-C
Retired Allied Health Member

Distinguished Clinician Award

Dr. Gelb is being recognized for his outstanding dedication to the field of allergy and immunology and productive career in improving the understanding of pathophysiologic mechanisms in asthma.
Arthur F. Gelb, MD, FAAAAI
Clinical Professor of Medicine
UCLA Medical Center

Distinguished Clinician Award

Dr. Wood is being recognized for his primary commitment to patient care of clinical investigation focused on diagnosis, treatment and prevention of asthma and allergic disease.
Robert A. Wood, MD, FAAAAI
Director of Pediatric Allergy & Immunology
Professor of Pediatrics
Johns Hopkins University School Medicine

Distinguished Layperson Award

Ms. Strobel is being recognized for her unwavering support and advocacy for eosinophilic disorders which has focused on raising funds for federal research in the community and on Capitol Hill.
Mary Jo Strobel
Executive Director
American Partnership for Eosinophilic Disorders

Distinguished Scientist Award

Dr. Rothenberg is being recognized for his significant contributions to advances of a new drug treatment for anti-eosinophil therapeutics and novel therapies for patients suffering from severe immune-mediated diseases.  
Marc E. Rothenberg, MD, PhD, FAAAAI
Director, Division of Allergy, and Immunology
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Lifetime Contribution to the AAAAI and A/I Specialty Award

Dr. Lockey is being recognized as the first recipient of the Lifetime Contribution to the AAAAI and A/I Specialty Award due to his commitment and service to the AAAAI and the field of A/I. Throughout his 50+ years in the specialty, he has served state, federal, and international government positions along with volunteer efforts dating back to 1980s. Dr. Lockey also served as the AAAAI President in 1992, on the Board of Directors for 10 years, was on the JACI Editorial Board for four years, and held numerous positions on more than 40 AAAAI committees.
Richard F. Lockey, MD, FAAAAI
University of South Florida
Professor of Medicine, Pediatrics & Public Health; Division Director

Mentorship Award

Dr. Jones is being recognized for her extensive work mentoring students, residents, fellows, and both young and established faculty during her 27 years as a Physician Scientist. While providing insight and guidance by lighting the way without squashing curiosity or creativity.
Stacie M. Jones, MD, FAAAAI
Professor of Pediatrics, Division of Allergy, and Immunology
UAMS/Arkansas Children's Hospital

Mentorship Award

Dr. Wedner is being recognized for helping to spread valuable scientific and clinical knowledge to numerous physicians that has improved the care of patients with immune disorders. While serving as a critical cornerstone in the career development of many mentees.
H. James Wedner, MD, FAAAAI
Washington University School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine

Practice Champion of the Year Award


Dr. Kuryan is being recognized for his community service, care for patients with respect to housing, nutrition, employment, safety, and initiatives to educate and facilitate allergy treatment for patients in his community.
John Kuryan, MD
Allergist, Managing Partner
Allergy & Asthma Care

RSLAAIS Leadership Award

Dr. Williams is being recognized for his service to the allergy/immunology local, regional, and national communities as a leader, mentor, advocate, and educator. As well as spearheading the COVID-19 Task Force, which involved writing more than 80 messages to keep AAAAI membership informed during the pandemic.  
Paul V. Williams, MD, FAAAAI
Emeritus Director
Northwest Asthma and Allergy Center

Special Recognition Award

Dr. El-Gamal is being recognized posthumously for his outstanding contributions to the field of pediatric allergy/immunology by founding the first A/I unit in Egypt. Dr. El-Gamal also played a key role in the development of many medical students.  
Yehia M. El-Gamal, MD, PhD, FAAAAI
Professor of Pediatrics
Ain Shams University