American Academy of Allergy Asthma & Immunology August 15, 2022

2022 - 2023 Board of Directors

President David A. Khan, MD, FAAAAI University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, TX

President-Elect Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD, FAAAAI University of Cincinnati College of Medicine Bernstein Allergy Group and Clinical Research Center Cincinnati, OH

Secretary-Treasurer Paul V. Williams, MD, FAAAAI Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle, WA

Immediate Past-President Giselle Mosnaim, MD, MS, FAAAAI NorthShore University HealthSystem Evanston, IL

At-Large Executive Committee Member Stuart L. Abramson, MD, PhD, AE-C, FAAAAI Shannon Medical Center/Shannon Clinic San Angelo, TX

At-Large Members Cem Akin, MD, PhD, FAAAAI University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

Leonard B. Bacharier, MD, FAAAAI Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, TN

Priya J. Bansal, MD, FAAAAI Asthma and Allergy Wellness Center St. Charles, IL

Carla M. Davis, MD, FAAAAI Baylor College of Medicine Houston, TX

Denise A. DiPrimio-Kalman, DO, FAAAAI Nemours/Al DuPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

Anna H. Nowak-Wegrzyn, MD, PhD, FAAAAI NYU Grossman School of Medicine New York, NY

Tamara T. Perry, MD, FAAAAI UAMS/Arkansas Children's Hospital Little Rock, AR

Wanda Phipatanakul, MD, MS, FAAAAI Boston Children's Hospital | Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Thanai Pongdee, MD, FAAAAI Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

Sarbjit (Romi) Saini, MD, FAAAAI Johns Hopkins Allergy Asthma Center Baltimore, MD

Frank Virant, MD, FAAAAI Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle, WA

Executive Vice President Thomas A. Fleisher, MD, FAAAAI

Executive Director Rebecca Brandt, CAE

Executive Director Emeritus Kay Whalen, MBA, CAE The Honorable Michael Burgess, M.D. U.S. House of Representatives 2161 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Vincente Gonzalez U.S. House of Representatives 113 Cannon House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

RE: Support for H.R.7995, the "Getting Over Lengthy Delays in Care As Required by Doctors (GOLD CARD) Act of 2022"

Dear Representatives Burgess and Gonzalez:

I write on behalf of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology (AAAAI) to express support for H.R.7995, the Getting Over Lengthy Delays in Care As Required by Doctors (GOLD CARD) Act of 2022. Your legislation would create a federal policy that would allow physicians who have received high prior authorization approvals to earn a "gold card" and be exempt from certain prior authorization requirements in caring for Medicare beneficiaries.

Established in 1943, the AAAAI is a professional organization with more than 7,000 members in the United States, Canada and 72 other countries. This membership includes allergist/immunologists, other medical specialists, allied health and related healthcare professionals – all with a special interest in the research and treatment of patients with allergic and immunological diseases.

The current prior authorization process is overly burdensome, requiring medical providers and staff to dedicate hours of administrative time in negotiating with a patient's insurance company to preapprove certain medications that prescribers have deemed to be medically necessary to properly treat a patient. The legislation would amend the current prior authorization process to exempt physicians from certain prior authorization requirements under Medicare Advantage plans that had at least ninety percent approval rates for prior authorization requests in the previous year. The AAAAI appreciates the legislation's efforts to lessen administrative burdens and in turn restore health care professionals' time available to care for patients and to allow patients to get timely fills for their needed medications.

Thank you for your commitment to improve patient access to allergists/immunologists. The AAAAI looks forward to working with you and your staff as issues related to allergy, asthma, and immunology arise, and would encourage you to contact Sheila Heitzig, JD, MNM, CAE, AAAAI Director of Practice and Policy, at (414) 272-6071 or sheitzig@aaaai.org if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

David A. Khan, MD, FAAAAI President, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology