

2021 - 2022 Board of Directors

President

Giselle Mosnaim, MD, MS, FAAAAI NorthShore University HealthSystem Evanston, IL

President-Elect

David A. Khan, MD, FAAAAI University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Dallas, TX

Secretary-Treasurer

Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD, FAAAAI University of Cincinnati College of Medicine Bernstein Allergy Group and Clinical Research Center Cincinnati, OH

Immediate Past-President

Mary Beth Fasano, MD, MSPH, FAAAAI University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Iowa City, IA

At-Large Executive Committee Member

Frank Virant, MD, FAAAAI Northwest Asthma and Allergy Center Seattle, WA

At-Large Members

Stuart L. Abramson, MD, PhD, AE-C, FAAAAI Shannon Medical Center/Shannon Clinic San Angelo, TX

Leonard B. Bacharier, MD, FAAAAI Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, TN

Paula J. Busse, MD, FAAAAI New York, NY

Timothy J. Craig, DO, FAAAAI Penn State University Hershey, PA

Carla M. Davis, MD, FAAAAI Baylor College of Medicine Houston, TX

Denise A. DiPrimio-Kalman, DO, FAAAAl Nemours/Al DuPont Hospital for Children Wilmington, DE

Tamara T. Perry, MD, FAAAAI UAMS/Arkansas Children's Hospital Little Rock, AR

Wanda Phipatanakul, MD, MS, FAAAAI Boston Children's Hospital | Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Thanai Pongdee, MD, FAAAAI Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

Sarbjit (Romi) Saini, MD, FAAAAI Johns Hopkins Allergy Asthma Center Baltimore, MD

Paul V. Williams, MD, FAAAAI Northwest Asthma and Allergy Center Mount Vernon, WA

Executive Vice President Thomas A. Fleisher, MD, FAAAAI

Executive Director Rebecca Brandt, CAE

Executive Director Emeritus Kay Whalen, MBA, CAE November 3, 2021

The Honorable Suzan K. DelBene U.S. House of Representatives 2330 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Ami Bera, M.D. U.S. House of Representatives 172 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Mike Kelly
U.S. House of Representatives
1707 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Larry Bucshon, M.D. U.S. House of Representatives 2313 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Re: Support for H.R. 3173, Improving Seniors Timely Access to Care Act of 2021

Dear Representatives DelBene, Kelly, Bera and Bucshon:

I write on behalf of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma& Immunology (AAAAI or Academy) to thank you for introducing *H.R. 3173*, the *Improving Seniors Timely Access to Care Act of 2021*. The Academy supports H.R. 3173 which will modernize and streamline the prior authorization process under Medicare Advantage (MA) plans to ensure patients have timely access to critical medications and uphold the patient-physician relationship.

Established in 1943, the AAAAI is a professional association with over 7,000 members in the United States, Canada and 72 other countries. This membership includes allergist/immunologists (A/I), other medical specialists, allied health and related healthcare professionals—all with a special interest in the research and treatment of patients with allergic and immunologic diseases.

AAAAI commends your bipartisan leadership in introducing this important legislation. The current prior authorization process is overly burdensome, requiring medical providers and staff to dedicated hours of administrative time in negotiating with a patient's insurance companies to preapprove certain medications that prescribers have deemed to be medically necessary to properly treat patients. Your legislation would make strides in reforming the current prior authorization process for MA programs to ensure patient access to the most appropriate medications in a timely manner. AAAAI appreciates the legislation's provisions to remove administrative burdens and in turn restore time spent caring for patients, including by establishing an electronic prior authorization process to streamline approvals and denials.

(more)

Thank you for your continued leadership on this important bipartisan and bicameral legislation to put patients first. As issues related to allergies, asthma, and immunological disorders arise, I encourage you to contact Sheila Heitzig, JD, MNM, CAE, AAAAI Director of Practice and Policy, at (414) 272-6071 or sheitzig@aaaai.org if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Giselle S. Mosnaim, MD, MS, FAAAAI

President, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology

Hiralle Mosnaim MOMS FAAAAI