

2024 - 2025 Board of Directors

President Paul V. Williams, MD, FAAAAI University of Washington School of Medicine Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle, WA

President-Elect Frank S. Virant, MD, FAAAAI University of Washington School of Medicine Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle, WA

Secretary-Treasurer Carla M. Davis, MD, FAAAAI Baylor College of Medicine Texas Children's Hospital Houston, TX

Immediate Past-President Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD, FAAAAI University of Cincinnati College of Medicine Bernstein Allergy Group and **Clinical Research Center** Cincinnati, OH

At-Large Executive Committee Member Thanai Pongdee, MD, FAAAAI Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN

At-Large Members Cem Akin, MD, PhD, FAAAAI University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

Priya J. Bansal, MD, FAAAAI Asthma and Allergy Wellness Center St. Charles, IL

Denise A. DiPrimio-Kalman, DO, FAAAAI Nemours Children's Health Wilmington, DE

Anil Nanda, MD, FAAAAI Asthma and Allergy Center Lewisville, TX

Anna H. Nowak-Wegrzyn, MD, PhD, FAAAAI NYU Grossman School of Medicine New York, NY

Jordan S. Orange, MD, PhD, FAAAAI Columbia University New York, NY

Anju T. Peters, MD, MSCI, FAAAAI Northwestern University Medical School Chicago, IL

Wanda Phipatanakul, MD, MS, FAAAAI Boston Children's Hospital Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Allison Ramsey, MD, FAAAAI Rochester Regional Health Rochester, NY

Rebecca Scherzer, MD, FAAAAI Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

Marcus S. Shaker, MD, MS, FAAAAI Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center Lebanon, NH

Executive Vice President Thomas A. Fleisher, MD, FAAAAI

Executive Director Rebecca Brandt, CAE

Executive Director Emeritus Kay Whalen, MBA, CAE

June 20, 2024

The Honorable Roger Marshall, MD
United States Senate
479A Russell Senate Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mike Kelly **U.S. House of Representatives** 1707 Longworth House Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema **United States Senate** 317 Hart Senate Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Suzan K. DelBene U.S. House of Representatives 2330 Rayburn House Office Bldg. Washington, DC 20515

Re: Support for S. 4532/H.R. 8702, the Improving Seniors' Timely Access to Care Act

Dear Senators Marshall and Sinema, and Representatives Kelly and DelBene:

I write on behalf of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma& Immunology (AAAAI) to thank you for your leadership in reintroducing the Improving Seniors Timely Access to Care Act (S. 4532/H.R. 8702). The AAAAI supports the legislation which codifies and enhances recent regulatory actions by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to modernize and streamline the prior authorization process under Medicare Advantage (MA) plans. These reforms will ensure patients have timely access to critical medications and uphold the patient-physician relationship.

Established in 1943, the AAAAI is a professional association with over 7,000 members in the United States, Canada and 72 other countries. This membership includes allergist/immunologists (A/I), other medical specialists, allied health and related healthcare professionals—all with a special interest in the research and treatment of patients with allergic and immunologic diseases.

(More)

As you know, the current prior authorization process is overly burdensome, requiring medical providers and staff to dedicated hours of administrative time in negotiating with a patient's insurance companies to preapprove certain medications that prescribers have deemed to be medically necessary to properly treat patients. Last year, the AAAAI released a <u>position statement</u> outlining the burdens of prior authorization on A/I practices and patients. The *Improving Seniors Timely Access to Care Act* would make strides in reforming the current prior authorization process for MA programs to ensure patient access to the most appropriate medications in a timely manner. The AAAAI appreciates the legislation's provisions to remove administrative burdens and in turn restore time spent caring for patients, including by establishing an electronic prior authorization process to streamline approvals and denials.

Thank you for your continued leadership on this important bipartisan and bicameral legislation to put patients first. We look forward to working with you to advance this important legislation. As issues related to allergies, asthma, and immunological disorders arise, I encourage you to contact Sheila Heitzig, JD, MNM, CAE, AAAAI Director of Practice and Policy, at (414) 272-6071 or sheitzig@aaaai.org if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

ane V. William

Paul Williams, MD FAAAAI President, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology