

2023 - 2024 Board of Directors

President

Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD, FAAAAI University of Cinclinati College of Medicine Bernstein Allergy Group and Clinical Research Center Cinclinati, OH

President-Elect

Paul V. Williams, MD, FAAAAI University of Washington School of Medicine Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle, WA

Secretary-Treasurer

Frank S. Virant, MD, FAAAAI Northwest Asthma & Allergy Center Seattle: WA

Immediate Past-President

David A. Khan, MD, FAAAAI University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Dallas. TX

At-Large Executive Committee Member Tamara T. Perry, M.D. FAAAAI UAMS/Arkansas Children's Hospital Little Rock, AR

At-Large Members

Stuart L. Abramson, MD, PhD, AE-C, FAAAAI Shannon Medical Center/Shannon Clinic San Angelo, TX

Cem Akin, MD, PhD, FAAAAI University of Michigan Ann Arbor, Mi

Leonard B. Racharier, MD, FAAAAI Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, TN

Priya J. Barrsal, MD, FAAAAI Asthma and Allergy Wellness Center St. Charles, IL

Denise A. DiPrimio Kalman, DO, FAAAAI Nemours Children's Health Wilmington, DF

Anii Nanda, MD, FAAAAI Asthma and Allergy Center Lewisville, TX

Anna H. Nowak-Wegrzyn, MD, PhD, FAAAAI NYU Grossman School of Medicine New York, NY

Wanda Phipatanakul, MD, MS, FAAAAI Boston Children's Hospital Harvard Medical School Boston, MA

Thanaí Pongdee, MD, FAAAAI Mayo Clínic Rochester, MN

Rebecca Scherzer, MD, FAAAAI Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus, OH

Marcus S. Shaker, MD, MS, FAAAAl Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center Lebanon, NH

Executive Vice President Thomas A. Fleisher, MD, FAAAAI

Executive Director Rebecca Brandt, CAE

Executive Director Emeritus Kay Whalen, MBA, CAE The Honorable Glenn Grothman U.S. House of Representatives 102 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

RE: Dillon's Law (H.R. 3910)

The Honorable Debbie Dingell U.S. House of Representatives 1511 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Grothman and Dingell:

I write on behalf of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (AAAAI) to thank you for your introduction of H.R. 3910, Dillon's Law. AAAAI supports this legislation that would incentivize states, using existing grants, to expand epinephrine training programs.

Established in 1943, AAAAI is a professional organization with more than 7,000 members in the United States, Canada and 72 other countries. This membership includes board certified allergist/ immunologists, other medical specialists, allied health, and related healthcare professionals – all with a special interest in the research and treatment of patients with allergic and immunological diseases.

Anaphylaxis can result from insect stings, food items, and medications with 500-1,000 fatalities annually and many more hospitalizations and emergency department visits. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) reports that the prevalence of food allergies in children increased by 50 percent between 1997 and 2011. Between 1997 and 2008, the prevalence of peanut or tree nut allergy appears to have more than tripled in U.S. children. About 40 percent of children with food allergies have experienced a severe reaction, such as anaphylaxis. Each year, more than 200,000 Americans require emergency medical care for allergic reactions to food: equivalent to one trip to the emergency room every three minutes.

H.R. 3910, named in memory of Dillon Mueller, will help to prevent tragedies among allergic individuals including anaphylaxis by creating a preference under an existing preventive health services federal grant program for states that allow trained individuals to carry and administer epinephrine to someone suffering from a severe allergic reaction.

(more)

On behalf of the patients we serve, thank you for your leadership in bringing attention to the issue of severe allergic reactions. The AAAAI looks forward to working with you to advance this important legislation. Please contact Sheila Heitzig, JD, MNM, CAE, AAAAI Director of Practice and Policy, at (414) 272-6071 or sheitzig@aaaai.org if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Jonathan A. Bernstein, MD FAAAAI

President, American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology